Max Kaye's Site

Max's Blog

Replies

TOC
About Max / Bio

Bio

I am an amateur philosopher practicing the school of Critical Fallibilsm. My favorite philosophy topics are: epistemology, learning, systems design, communication, morality, project planning and business, and general life skills and attitudes. I spent the last half of 2020 improving my thinking methods via (commercial) one-on-one philosophy tutoring from Elliot Temple. Those 52 tutorials (~100 hrs) are available free on YouTube and you can read my learning FI site and my microblog to see the philosophy work I was doing at that time. The tutorials started with my goal of improving my writing quality, but they covered a very wide range of topics, like grammar, procrastination, social dynamics (e.g. analysing + understanding lies and dishonesty), yes/no philosophy (epistemology), learning methods, and having successful discussions.

As a result of the improvements to my thinking methods, in January 2021 I unendorsed all my previous ideas. That means that I revoked my implicit endorsement of projects, ideas, opinions, etc that I had previously worked on, advocated, promoted, etc. There's more details in the above-linked video. This about page was sorely out-of-date prior to the update on 11th July 2021. You can see previous versions on github.

For work, I do mostly software stuff. I'm pretty good at that, generally; you can check out my github profile if you like. I've built sophisticated systems of smart contracts (with 99.7% test coverage) as the backend for a secure online-voting SaaS product. I've built sophisticated IaC cloud systems with bespoke advanced automation and devops tools. SPAs and webapps in Elm, Purescript, and Typescript (VueJS) with features like signature input and PDF generation, headless browser automation, and crypto stuff like auditing an on-chain election.